Duct tape saves the day!

And we are back!  I hope that everyone had a great and safe 4th of July and weekend.  I spent the time out in the mountains at some family property with my wife.  We had a great time though as the title of this post indicates we did have an issue.

Well a few weeks ago we took in a little pop up trailer as a trade and we decided that it was time to try it out.  Now normally we bring a tent when we go camping so this was new ground for us.  We loaded up and hauled the trailer up to our property.  Now one thing that I must say is that the dirt road heading up there has quite a few washboards as well as some good sized holes so it was a very bumpy ride up there.

Well when we finally got parked I went around the trailer setting out the legs and I noticed something that made me not so happy.  When I got around back I noticed the spare tire bracket and tire was hanging by a single bolt and the back plastic panel was hanging loose so that you could see all the way into the guts of the trailer.

After a few choice words I decided I better see exactly how bad things were and if I could fix it.  What I found was the screws holding the spare tire mount had worked themselves out so that only one was actually connected.  This allowed the weight of the spare tire to bow out the back plastic pulling it from trim piece that held it in place.  I unscrewed the trim piece and completely removed the spare tire bracket.  I pushed the plastic back into place and replaced the trim piece and screws.  I then broke out my trusty Duct Tape to secure the piece so that it would not pull out of the trim again.

We had no other issues with the trailer really and on the ride home the plastic stayed securely in place.  I think if I keep this trailer I will weld a mount to the rear bumper for the spare tire.

Leave a comment